Christianity. Overcoming, Life skills, trauma. Nature, photography, art, writing, pets, family, The Kingdom of God.

An unexpected visitor

I was living in a strange area not one I thought I would end up in.  I had bought my own house and thought I was investing sensibly into it.  It turned out i had gone way past it’s real value in the market place and the only value of my house was in my mind.

Angry at the way things had turned out and alone, not mention afraid of what I had done and what might yet be to come I knew not how to fix the mess I had made of my home.

Then one day a knock came to my door, soft at first but insistent and gradually getting louder with each knock.  Apprehensively I opened the door just a bit to see who was there.  There stood a man not particularly handsome but an open honest face who joyfully told me that he had been told of my situation and if I would let him come in he would tell me how to fix things.  Not normally given to inviting strangers into my house, I was reticent, but something about the warmth and conviviality of this man whose name he told me was Joshua made me want to take the risk.  After all what had I to lose if things went south, I’d just ask him to leave.

Outloud I said “you can come in.”  “Would you like a cup of tea?”  Putting on my best hospitality face and manner.  As I was putting water in the kettle, setting it boil, finding the tea bags, teapot, cups and saucers, I noticed Joshua seemed to be looking around at what was in the house.  Embarrassed I started to fuss and make excuses.  “I’m sorry it’s such a mess I wasn’t expecting company”.

“Don’t feel uncomfortable” Joshua said, I  just take folks as I find them.  I don’t expect them to be something their not”.  “Well, that’s good” I replied feeling slightly relieved.  Handing him his cup of tea placed on a saucer, “milk”?  I asked.  Sitting myself down opposite him I asked him, “now what is it you have come to tell me”.

He started by telling a bit about himself and he was so interested in me too.  We chatted up a storm, I was so comfortable in his presence I started to forget how lonely I’d been.  As he stood up to leave, I remembered and pressed him to stay the night eager for more friendship and the laughter I’d found welling up every now and then as he regaled his stories to me, something I had not done in long time.  He willingly took up my offer and stayed.  Gradually one day turned into two and then a week, a month and then months.  I began to realize that Joshua had brought something positive into my home and gave me something to look forward to by just being there.

Over a period of time I began to notice small things that needed changing, for example I needed to vacuum the dust out of the house, straighten up the bookshelf, clean the windows.  I even thought I should take care of myself a little more.  I had neglected my appearance for quite a while now.  I had allowed My house and myself to become quite shabby.  My garden that the world saw was quite overgrown, although it had been lovely when I bought the house.  Weeds and drought from not watering had taken it’s toll.

Winter had come and gone it seemed and spring was in the air.  Yes, it was time to spring clean my house.  Joshua said he would help me.  At first it was fun as we swept and polished and tidied.  But then Joshua decided to take stock of the furniture and said that several of my favorite pieces really ought to go and another style would be better.  Suddenly I thought “what am I doing letting this man change my lifestyle, after all can I really trust him?”  “What right does he have to tell me that he doesn’t like my couch, or dining table?”  That I need to replace them?  Yet, deep down I knew he was quite right about the need to ‘upgrade’ as it were. I guess I just resented someone I took into my own house, now asserting himself and telling ME what needed to be done and what would help things be better!

“Gosh,”  I thought you just don’t really know a person until you spend time with them and expecially live with them!  Eventually after sulking quite a bit and letting my feelings be know by huffing around I agreed.  I replaced the couch and dining table and ones I had now were much better and more serviceable.  Not only that I didn’t mind other people seeing them, because I was not ashamed anymore of how my house was inside, or for that matter outside after our massive clean up session.

One day after all this change Joshua announces he has to visit another place and that I would be alright now.  What did he mean, I would be alright now, all this change came about because he came and knocked on my door and I had reticently opened it and let him in. We’d had such a great time at first time had slipped by and I guess I kind of took him for granted.  Then came the deeper level of friendship where we’d had words about how I needed to change some things and eventually I had agreed and followed through with it, spending my own money too on his agenda for me.  Now he wanted to leave!

He said, I would be able to find him any time I wanted to, I only had to look him up and talk to him and he’d still be with me.  Then he left with a pleasant goodbye, affirming “I’m always around watching you know, just call.”  I had a few days pouting and thinking to myself “well who needs Joshua anyway?”  Inside I really knew I did, in fact I come to rely on him and dare I say it, even love his presence, now he was gone, how was I to cope.

A few days later gingerly, I spoke out loud, “ are you there Joshua?  Can you hear me?.  “I’m here”  came the quietly spoken reply, almost a breath on the air.  Did I imagine it?  But, no along with the statement came the peaceful assurance that indeed somehow his presence was still in my house.  In fact it clung to every part of the house, the drapes, the couch, the dining table where we had shared so many lovely meals.  The shining windows, the dustless shelves and books.  The tidy garden now blooming giving fragrance and pleasure, all of spoke of Joshua’s input in my house, indeed in my life. Could it be possible what he said was true?  That I could find him anytime I wanted simply by speaking to him, and he would hear me?

Over time I found it was true and that truly Joshua’s presence somehow never left my house.  He continued to inspire and help me when I needed it and encourage me when i needed that.  I was no longer lonely as I once been.  I even let other people into my house now I was no longer ashamed of it.  That’s how I learned over the years that many people had been visited in their houses and been changed in one way or another.  I guess Joshua was secretly a master makeover of houses and there was no charge.  All you had to do was let him into your house.

Those who have ears to hear let them hear.  Those who have eyes to see let them see the true meaning here.

 

 

 

 

 

Standard